I’ve been poking around in Bridget Pilloud’s Archives, and I just found this beautiful and appropriate post from December, 2009:

Happy Solstice- The Sun Stands Still

Happy Solstice!

The word Solstice is from the Latin phrase, “Sun Stands Still”, and for a few days, those of us away from the equator experience the sun rising and setting at the same time.

I love this  Sun Stands Still .  It’s like the meditative breath, the point where you have completely exhaled, and before you breathe in. That brief moment of expectation, a tiny beat of hope. What will the next breath bring?

This picture is from Maniac World and their fun montage of people holding the sun.

One Response to

Happy Solstice – The Sun Stands Still

Karen J    December 29, 2009

How beautiful!
And perfectly appropriate – I’ve just started exploring your richness of awesome, here (thanks to a comment you left at Mark Silver’s Heart of Business blog) .

First thing I did was “pick a color for 2010″ – and guess what ~ it’s exactly the brilliant color of the corona in this photo!

I’m looking forward to much more rewarding exploration ~

Bright Blessings!

TeeHeeHee – That’s me, folks – exactly 2 1/2 years ago. And boy-howdy, have I found inspirations, support, and friends a-plenty at Bridget’s. I wouldn’t be who I am, where I am, if I hadn’t made that discovery.

~~~~~~~

Wednesday was the Summer Solstice, which carries the same sort of Energy as the Winter Solstice, from the other side of the looking glass.  Same ‘holding your breath for a moment’, endings-yielding-to-new-beginnings feeling. Indeed, I wonder what marvels and challenges this next year will bring…

